Customer reviews for Royal Purple Royal Purple Max Gear 75w90 Gear Oil

Royal Purple Royal Purple Max Gear 75w90 Gear Oil

Pure Performance. Maximize performance from your Mustang's drivetrain with Royal Purple Max Gear oil. This fully synthetic oil is the perfect compliment to new gears, lubricating better and ensuring your differential keeps working its best whether it has gone a thousand miles or a hundred thousand. Protect Your Investment. Made with Royal Purple's innovative Synslide® additive, Max Gear oil is perfect for upgrades or routine service. It's the gear oil of choice for greater wear protection and lower temperatures for every car, from daily drivers to track-day toys. It prevents corrosion and meets all warranty requirements, so adding Royal Purple Max Gear oil is great for peace of mind when it comes to your Pony. Includes Friction Modifier. Unlike other oils, all viscosities of Max-Gear® are formulated with hypoid friction modifiers necessary for use in clutch or cone type differentials. No additional additives are necessary. Application. Royal Purple Max Gear 75w90 weight oil is recommended for use in 1979 to 2014 Mustangs and is compatible with other oils. Three (3) quarts of gear oil are required to fill a 8.8" Ford rear end.
Overall rating:
4.912 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(34 reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 34 reviews
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
34 out of 34(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Royal Purple Max Gear 75w90 Gear Oil
Review 1 for Royal Purple Max Gear 75w90 Gear Oil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

MT-82

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Sonny11
FromOak Lawn, IL, USA
Year:2011
Model:V6
Driving Style:Street / Strip
'Stangs I have owned:1
Performance Gain 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Installation Time:
Less than 1 Hour
 
Less than 1 Hour
I put this fluid in my 2011 mustang 3.7l 6-speed manual transmissions the mt-82 trans. I did a lot of research on the mt-82 trans fluid and this one had the best reviews so I bought it and its great. The shifts are really smooth now. Even though I had the barton shifter with the 2 post bracket I still had a little trouble shifting with the old fluid. But with the new fluid it shifts great. It shifts a little hard when the car is cold but when the car warms up it shifts unbelievable. The fluid change wasn't that hard to do I would recommend using a lift when changing the fluid. This fluid is great for the mt-82 transmissions. I should have done this when I first got the car. Shipping was fast to. I love ordering parts from AM.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Royal Purple Max Gear 75w90 Gear Oil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Royal Purple - worth the extra cost

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Customer avatar
HowellDoug
FromHowell, MI, USA
Year:2014
Model:V6
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:1
Performance Gain 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Installation Time:
Less than 1 Hour
 
Less than 1 Hour
It's gear lube...not sure what to say other than it's typical Royal Purple - high quality and gets the job done.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Royal Purple Max Gear 75w90 Gear Oil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Must use!

PostedAugust 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Ryan
FromMalven, PA
Year:2001
Model:Cobra
Driving Style:Street / Strip
'Stangs I have owned:3
Performance Gain 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fit 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Installation Time:
Less than 1 Hour
 
Less than 1 Hour
Swapped to a set of 4.10 gears on my Cobra and used this to refill the diff housing. Was easy to add and haven't had any gear whine or anything. A great product from Royal Purple, i use it for all my fluids in my Cobra.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Royal Purple Max Gear 75w90 Gear Oil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The only oil I buy... Royal Purple

PostedApril 24, 2013
Customer avatar
miami01
FromFL
Year:1997
Model:GT
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:10+
Performance Gain 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Installation Time:
Shop Install
 
Shop Install
Installation Cost:
0-$100
 
0-$100
What can I say that everybody already knows?? This is the best and only oil I will ever use. Thank you AM...
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Royal Purple Max Gear 75w90 Gear Oil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product and A MUST HAVE

PostedMarch 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Renie
FromMalver, PA
Year:2012
Model:GT500
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:10+
Performance Gain 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Installation Time:
Less than 1 Hour
 
Less than 1 Hour
This fluid is a must have when you are changing out gears!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Royal Purple Max Gear 75w90 Gear Oil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

protection

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Troy469
FromRoanoke Rapids, NC, USA
Year:2006
Model:GT
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:2
Performance Gain 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Installation Time:
Less than 1 Hour
 
Less than 1 Hour
If your adding a new rear-end gear Royal Purple is a must, to make it last.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Royal Purple Max Gear 75w90 Gear Oil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Synthetic Solution

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Customer avatar
HatchTexas
FromTexas, USA
Year:Pre-79
Model:Other
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:1
Performance Gain 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Installation Time:
Less than 1 Hour
 
Less than 1 Hour
Best price I could find on Royal Purple full synthetic gear oil. Better than local price; better than any other online price I found. And I found a great source of Mustang stuff to boot!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Royal Purple Max Gear 75w90 Gear Oil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Smooth & slick

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Patrick92
FromWinston Salem, NC
Year:1992
Model:Other
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:3
Performance Gain 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Installation Time:
Less than 1 Hour
 
Less than 1 Hour
Royal Purple line of oils seems to be some of the best that money can buy. This gear oil does wonders with the diff gears and you don't have to add anything else to protect it! American Muscle keeps it in stock, and as always ease of ordering plus fast shipping are always top shelf. I recommend this to anyone needing new gear oil.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Royal Purple Max Gear 75w90 Gear Oil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Roccaon
Year:1999
Model:GT
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:2
Performance Gain 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Installation Time:
Less than 1 Hour
 
Less than 1 Hour
Top product, top value and best on market - cann't imagin why you would use any other product
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Royal Purple Max Gear 75w90 Gear Oil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gear Oil

PostedApril 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Duncan
FromMalvern P.A
Year:1987
Model:Other
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:2
Performance Gain 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Installation Time:
Less than 1 Hour
 
Less than 1 Hour
Great price on the oil. Great quality. Worth the buy.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Royal Purple Max Gear 75w90 Gear Oil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gear oil

PostedApril 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Blaise
FromPasadena, CA
Year:2002
Model:GT
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:1
Performance Gain 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Installation Time:
Afternoon
 
Afternoon
The gear oil works like it should. The way my car drives has not changed, but now I just know my car is running smooth. Also when filling make sure you have a hand pump.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Royal Purple Max Gear 75w90 Gear Oil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Royal Purple Max Gear 75w90 Gear Oil

PostedApril 6, 2012
Customer avatar
TitoPR
Year:1994
Model:Cobra
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:2
Performance Gain 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Installation Time:
Less than 1 Hour
 
Less than 1 Hour
Good quality product from Royal Purple. Fast shipping. Thanks AM!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Royal Purple Max Gear 75w90 Gear Oil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rotal Purple Rocks!

PostedMarch 7, 2012
Customer avatar
DiegoRL
FromBrownsville, TX
Year:2003
Model:GT
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:2
Performance Gain 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Installation Time:
Afternoon
 
Afternoon
Took me a little while to do the rear diff oil change, it was my first time though but it feels amazing!
100% recommended
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Royal Purple Max Gear 75w90 Gear Oil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Gear Oil

PostedOctober 20, 2011
Customer avatar
Mike98
Year:1998
Model:GT
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:2
Performance Gain 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Installation Time:
Afternoon
 
Afternoon
I put this in the 8.8 rear of my 98 GT. Right away I noticed a quieter and smoother ride, but not much in the way of performance gains. The only tricky part was getting the new oil into the diff. It was hard to get the bottle lined up to pour it in because of the mufflers and the driveshaft. But other than that, it was a good choice for the price.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Royal Purple Max Gear 75w90 Gear Oil
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Stuff

PostedOctober 11, 2011
Customer avatar
Lawless
Year:2000
Model:GT
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:2
Performance Gain 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Installation Time:
Less than 1 Hour
 
Less than 1 Hour
I use Royal Purple products for trans and diff fills on all my vehicles (autos and atvs). I've never had any issue and most always makes shifting smoother.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Royal Purple Max Gear 75w90 Gear Oil
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good product but 75w-90 wrong for 2002 Mustangs with 8.8 rear end

PostedOctober 2, 2011
Customer avatar
Rix02
FromNorth Salt Lake, UT
Year:2002
Model:GT
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:3
Performance Gain 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fit 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Installation Time:
Afternoon
 
Afternoon
Purchased 75w-90 based on American Muscle web page stating it was the correct fluid. Order was on the way before I checked owner's manual. Ford specs 75w-140 for the 02 Stang and the data tag on the differential cover says "Use only 75w-140". Called American Muscle they said the 90 weight would be OK. Could have chanced it, but was able to exchange the 90 for 140 weight at a local retailer at no cost. Put in the specified 75w-140 and all is good. Be aware that you need to drop the sway bar to reinstall the cover without making a mess of silicone gasket sealant. Royal Purple products are great
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Royal Purple Max Gear 75w90 Gear Oil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No jerks or grinding or howling.

PostedSeptember 23, 2011
Customer avatar
twoseatride
FromGlade Spring, Va
Year:1997
Model:GT
Driving Style:Street / Strip
'Stangs I have owned:1
Performance Gain 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Installation Time:
Less than 1 Hour
 
Less than 1 Hour
No jerks or grinding or howling.
Wonderful product, try it I did, you want be disappointed.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Royal Purple Max Gear 75w90 Gear Oil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's gear oil!

PostedAugust 29, 2011
Customer avatar
Robert
FromDowningtown, PA
Year:1986
Model:Other
Driving Style:Street / Strip
'Stangs I have owned:2
Performance Gain 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Installation Time:
Less than 1 Hour
 
Less than 1 Hour
whenever i change any fluids in my stang, i use royal purple, and the rearend is no exception. i will admit that there was little to no difference with swapping to this performance wise, but the difference in noise from the rear and the added protection of a full synthetic is definately the reason to buy this and most other royal purple products. when its time to do gears or just for a fluid or gasket change, go with this product for reliable, quiet operation
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Royal Purple Max Gear 75w90 Gear Oil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Holds up to light abuse no problem!

PostedAugust 25, 2011
Customer avatar
Jim96
Year:1996
Model:V6
Driving Style:Daily Driver
Performance Gain 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Installation Time:
Afternoon
 
Afternoon
Put this in my rear and have had no problems for the past year of use.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Royal Purple Max Gear 75w90 Gear Oil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Smooth running!

PostedAugust 8, 2011
Customer avatar
Jared
Driving Style:Street / Strip
Year:2006
Model:GT
I just changed the diff fluid today. I did it at the same time as the tranny fluid. I dont have any scientific results but I can say there is minimal resistance in the drive train. I run all royal purple and I feel confident that wont have any fluid related problems. I changed it at 70k and the old fluid seemed like it would be good till 100k. I saw 3 different numbers from diff fluid intervals so I went with the shortest one.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.