Customer reviews for Comp Cams Comp Cams Stage 3 Xtreme Energy XE270AH Camshafts (96-04 GT)

Comp Cams Comp Cams Stage 3 Xtreme Energy XE270AH Camshafts (96-04 GT)

Big Power Gains. If you're ready to take the next step in power mods but don't want to go with a forced-induction setup, Comp Cams Stage III Xtreme Energy Camshafts are a great addition to your Pony. They will give you great mid-range power gains in horsepower and torque. They are best suited to Mustangs with Performance Improvement Heads. Streetable. This cam balances an aggressive profile with street driveability. When tuned, you'll still be able to drive your Pony around town to show it off to your admiring (or envious) friends and onlookers alike - and with a big sound even at idle this cam is guaranteed to turn heads. Deep, Loping Idle. If you love the sound of a deep, loping idle, you won't be disappointed by this cam. Like the muscle cars of yesteryear, this cam yields a sound that will make lesser cars clear a path out of your way at lights. Adjustable Cam Gears. Maximize the power from your new camshafts with a set of Adjustable Cam Gears, which will allow you the ability to fine tune your camshaft timing - a critical necessity when doing mods that can change your camshaft-to-crankshaft centerline position. Please see drop down option above. Application. This SOHC Camshaft is designed for 1996-2004 4.6L two valve V8 Mustangs with 3.55 or steeper rear gears and a 2000 plus stall speed converter on automatic transmissions. Recommended for use with 4.6 two valve V8 mustangs with intake, exhaust, custom tuned computer, and valve spring upgrades.
Overall rating:
4.833 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
24 out of 24(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
34 Questions | 52 Answers
Customer reviews for Comp Cams Stage 3 Xtreme Energy XE270AH Camshafts (96-04 GT)
Review 1 for Comp Cams Stage 3 Xtreme Energy XE270AH Camshafts (96-04 GT)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Numbers Don\'t Lie

PostedJune 5, 2009
Customer avatar
D Smith
All the dyno charts I had seen on these cams showed good power throughout but not the highest total HP gain. I didn\'t want to lose bottom end so I selected these cams. I had the car dyno\'d before and after and before the cams the car made 404 rwhp and 398 tq, after 492 rwhp and 430 tq!! The numbers don\'t lie, that\'s an awesome gain for the money! However, the car made much better power before 4500 rpm before the cams. The car really wakes up at 4500. Although Comp recommends 3.55 gears (which is what I have), I would go with 3.73s because even my supercharged 2V won\'t get out of it\'s own way on the highway in 5th gear. You can\'t compare the idle with these cams though, absolutely awesome! Car sounds super mean!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+63points
77of 91voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Comp Cams Stage 3 Xtreme Energy XE270AH Camshafts (96-04 GT)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great

PostedJune 21, 2010
Customer avatar
CJ
Year:2003
Model:GT
For my 2003 GT these cams are great!!! Note: Upgrade the valve springs, buy 2 stock crank shaft bolts to attach the cam shaft gears, yes Ford crank shaft bolts 12mm by 1.5 / 44mm long, and YES will need a tune or need a tuner with some knowledge how to use it. Other than that very peppy over stock PI and I am running stock injectors.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+40points
52of 64voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Comp Cams Stage 3 Xtreme Energy XE270AH Camshafts (96-04 GT)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great bang for the buck

PostedJuly 26, 2010
Customer avatar
elijah
these are a amazing buy for the price. you cant beat it. although they are a pain in the to install the reward is well worth it. I love the great deep exhaust note i have on my car. haven't gotten it tuned yet so i havent seen the best of the power gains but so far it is noticeable difference in the car. would tell anyone thinking about getting these to buy them in a second youll be happy you did
Yes, I recommend this product.
+21points
24of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Comp Cams Stage 3 Xtreme Energy XE270AH Camshafts (96-04 GT)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sweet!!

PostedOctober 3, 2010
Customer avatar
DCook
Driving Style:Street / Strip
Year:2003
Model:GT
I have these cams in my 03 gt, love the cam sound but the best part is hitting them higher rpm's and feeling the cams put you back in the seat again. Im running the stock intake but 24lbs injectors with the 4.10 gears pushing 325rwhp all motor no power adders.. highly recommend these cams great buy great power..
Yes, I recommend this product.
+19points
26of 33voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Comp Cams Stage 3 Xtreme Energy XE270AH Camshafts (96-04 GT)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome!!!!!

PostedFebruary 18, 2010
Customer avatar
anthony
Year:1997
Model:GT
i installed these cams on my 97 gt and i have to say they are pretty amazing...the car is louder and alot more power in the higher rpms...the only problems i encountered was that the idle is very very low so if im stopped at a red light i have to be constently be pressing the gas to keep the idle up or it will stall out but thats without the custom tune so that might be y but dont let that stop you from bjying this product is still amazing!!! good job american muscle you guys have the best custumer service and for 580 its worth it
Yes, I recommend this product.
+21points
31of 41voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Comp Cams Stage 3 Xtreme Energy XE270AH Camshafts (96-04 GT)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

stage 2

PostedJanuary 22, 2010
Customer avatar
key
These cams are great but one thing you need to know. The stock cam gears are pressed on to the stock cams so you have to buy a new set of cam gears which are around $350. But the good thing is that the comp cams bolt on to the new cam gears.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+20points
29of 38voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Comp Cams Stage 3 Xtreme Energy XE270AH Camshafts (96-04 GT)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome

PostedMay 15, 2011
Customer avatar
chris meier
Driving Style:Show
Year:2001
Model:GT
I paid to have it installed. They did it quick with no issues. I still have not dyno tuned it but it is nothing less than awesome sounds amazing, lost low end torque. But gained everywhere else! Would recommend to anyone.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
14of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Comp Cams Stage 3 Xtreme Energy XE270AH Camshafts (96-04 GT)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great hp gain

PostedJanuary 28, 2011
Customer avatar
450+ hp 1996 gt
Driving Style:Street / Strip
these cams are a great modification to an engine, but there will not be a big noticable gain unless you upgrade other aspects of the engine, injectors (im running 30lbs), cold air intake, throttle body(im running a 75mm), ignition, plug wires, and the computer MUST have a tune to advance the timing, air to fuel ration...ect,you would have to buy a tuner and do it yourself or take it to a performance shop but that smore pricey...good luck with your stang :)
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Comp Cams Stage 3 Xtreme Energy XE270AH Camshafts (96-04 GT)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

sweet cams

PostedJanuary 27, 2011
Customer avatar
Chris Wicklund
Driving Style:Show
Year:1996
Model:GT
Put these cams in my port and polished PI heads allong with polished valves and stronger valve springs. Did the PI swap in my 96 GT and got it tuned by Dez Racing. The cams sound awsome! Not over done but very well pernounced sound. Nice power gains above 2,500 RPM all the way up. Highly recomended.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Comp Cams Stage 3 Xtreme Energy XE270AH Camshafts (96-04 GT)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this was a great buy

PostedOctober 6, 2011
Customer avatar
Colt
FromTexas
Year:1996
Model:GT
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:1
Performance Gain 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Installation Time:
Weekend
 
Weekend
this is a great cam and good sounding the one thing i can help out with is the correct item #'s for the parts you will need if you are doing a engine build like me cause american muscles are old. the cam bolts (ford part #) F1AZ6A340A and the washers are F1AZ6278A as for the spacers i got from summit racing they sell them for 20 bucks. but if your looking for something to make your pony sound nice and its oyur dd i would definatly buy these for some good street use.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Comp Cams Stage 3 Xtreme Energy XE270AH Camshafts (96-04 GT)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sick2v

PostedAugust 18, 2009
Customer avatar
Rudi
Year:2002
Model:GT
Havent recieved a tune yet but I've already shaved 6tenths off my 1/4 mile. Simply awesome. The idle thump is like no other. I think I blushed the first time I heard it coming from my 02gt. With the right set up for air delivery and these cams you'll be more than pleased. Low end torque is lost a little yet more than makes up for ir in the higher rpm's, Especially around 4000. Great product!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Comp Cams Stage 3 Xtreme Energy XE270AH Camshafts (96-04 GT)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

PostedApril 6, 2009
Customer avatar
Dave
Year:2004
Model:GT
Put these cams on my 04 GT and they are pretty sick. Makes the car shake and sound so nice, lots of power to boot
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Comp Cams Stage 3 Xtreme Energy XE270AH Camshafts (96-04 GT)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome

PostedDecember 1, 2009
Customer avatar
jimmy z
Year:2004
Model:GT
i installed these cams in my 04 gt. they make the car sound pissed off at idle. way more power in the higher rpms and i didnt need to change the valvesprings. i would go with a stage III cam instead though and swap out the valvesprings. all in all, these cams are worth the $580. they are a better investment rather than a hood or whatnot.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Comp Cams Stage 3 Xtreme Energy XE270AH Camshafts (96-04 GT)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Buy new bolts...

PostedJuly 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Reaper7569
FromPeru, IN 46970, USA
Year:2003
Model:GT
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:2
Performance Gain 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Installation Time:
Full Day
 
Full Day
The issue I had with install was the new cams don't take the same size camshaft bolts as stock...they take the 12mm crankshaft bolts. Make sure you order crankshaft bolts not camshaft bolts. If your motor is stock, you will most likely have piston to valve contact with these installed.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Comp Cams Stage 3 Xtreme Energy XE270AH Camshafts (96-04 GT)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Cams

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Nitro6r
FromMD
Year:2002
Model:GT
Driving Style:Street / Strip
'Stangs I have owned:2
Performance Gain 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Installation Time:
Weekend
 
Weekend
I installed these along with a full rebuild. These cams are excellent. With mildly ported heads the power comes in around 3000 RPM and is significantly improved from there to redline. No PTV, but I also put aftermarket valves to make some extra room. Degree these upon install or risk losing the heads. Sick idle.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Comp Cams Stage 3 Xtreme Energy XE270AH Camshafts (96-04 GT)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comp Cam XE270

PostedJanuary 27, 2012
Customer avatar
gibills13
FromLAKEWOOD, WA
Year:2001
Model:GT
Performance Gain 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Installation Time:
Shop Install
 
Shop Install
Professionally packaged, comp cams is a good resource for engine builders wanting a good grind, delivered next day if needed.
Lope is noticeable, but not overdone.
Great street cam, great in lower to high power band.
Nice for a significant upgrade in HP, in addition to supporting mods (air and fuel).
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Comp Cams Stage 3 Xtreme Energy XE270AH Camshafts (96-04 GT)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good price

PostedDecember 25, 2011
Customer avatar
joey727
Fromomaha nebraska
Year:2002
Model:GT
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:3
Performance Gain 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Installation Time:
Less than 1 Hour
 
Less than 1 Hour
Great price, easy install if motor is out. I do recommend installing new valve springs otherwise you will have clearance issues. Haven't heard the car run yet, should sound good tho.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Comp Cams Stage 3 Xtreme Energy XE270AH Camshafts (96-04 GT)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good gain

PostedJanuary 27, 2012
Customer avatar
ricky78046
FromLaredo, TX
Year:2001
Model:GT
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:3
Performance Gain 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Installation Time:
Shop Install
 
Shop Install
Very good product, fast shipping, fit super good and my car sound and feel so strong
Yes, I recommend this product.
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Comp Cams Stage 3 Xtreme Energy XE270AH Camshafts (96-04 GT)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good but bad

PostedMarch 29, 2011
Customer avatar
Jerry
Driving Style:Daily Driver
Year:2004
Model:GT
Install isnt too difficult. But you gotta degree them to avoid PTV which means if you dont.know how to do is using stock.cam gears you gotta buy the adjustable ones as well. Most def gotta upgrade springs which is.much easier to do with heads off. Just a PITA if your short on time. Sound is amazing but took 3 tear downs and 3 weekends. Do your research if this is your first cam unless you got a shop doin it which means more $. By then you shoulda bought a power adder
Yes, I recommend this product.
-13points
3of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Comp Cams Stage 3 Xtreme Energy XE270AH Camshafts (96-04 GT)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

the parts your gonna need :)

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Customer avatar
shandb9
Year:2000
Model:GT
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:1
Performance Gain 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
4 / 5
4 / 5
YOU DO NEED A BOLT AND WASHER...
the stock bolt that comes out of the pi cams wont fit the comp cams stage 3 xe270ah cams. They just arent big enough.. so youll need to
Buy 2 camshaft bolts:
F1AZ-6A340-A ( this bolt is hard to find and has been discontinued so search the secound part number I listed right under this)
Or
F5RZ 6A340 B (I bought this bolt and it fit perfectly)
_____________________________________
And 2 washers:
F1AZ-6278-A
And also do research on fidanza cam gears before you buy them.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.