Customer reviews for MAC MAC Off-road Pro Chamber Mid-Pipe (99-04 4.6L)

MAC MAC Off-road Pro Chamber Mid-Pipe (99-04 4.6L)

Increase Exhaust Flow. Get rid of those power robbing factory catalytic converters and uncork your Mustangs hidden power with a MAC Performance Off-road Mid-Pipe. Featuring their exclusive Pro Chamber style crossover and free-flowing mandrel-bent piping, this high performance mid-pipe will dramatically improve exhaust flow for more horsepower and torque.Aggressive Muscle Car Rumble. This free flowing MAC off-road mid-pipe not only increases the horsepower and torque of your Mustang, but with its unique Pro Chamber cross over design it adds a more aggressive muscle car rumble to the sound of your exhaust, that the standard H-pipe just can't match.High Quality Construction. Mandrel bent from durable 2.5" steel tubing so there are no kinks to rob you of power, this MAC Performance mid-pipe has been hot-dip coated with aluminum-silicon alloy to aluminize the steel to protect against corrosion and rust. Application. This MAC Performance Pro Chamber Off-road Mid-pipe is designed as a direct bolt-on for the 1999-2004 4.6L Mustangs, including the GT, Bullitt, Mach 1 and SVT Cobra Models with either aftermarket short tube headers or the stock factory manifolds and a dual catback exhaust installed. Intended for off-road, track use only, does not include catalytic converters.
Overall rating:
4.625 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 32 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
27 out of 30(90%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for MAC Off-road Pro Chamber Mid-Pipe (99-04 4.6L)
Review 1 for MAC Off-road Pro Chamber Mid-Pipe (99-04 4.6L)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mac O/R Prochamber

PostedMay 15, 2011
Customer avatar
Corey Miller
Driving Style:Daily Driver
Year:2003
Model:GT
I have a 2003 Mustang GT and lets just say everybody knows when I am coming!!! This O/R Prochamber combined with Flowmaster 40s is a very deep aggressive tone that is perfect for a Mustang. I'd recommend this product to anybody!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+30points
30of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for MAC Off-road Pro Chamber Mid-Pipe (99-04 4.6L)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

scare a ricer to death!!!!!

PostedMay 8, 2012
Customer avatar
blackout77
FromOrlando, FL, USA
Year:2004
Model:GT
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:1
Loudness (Volume) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exhaust Note 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit & Finish 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Installation Time:
Afternoon
 
Afternoon
great product! fits very well. sounds AMAZING!!! after i put it on i went out for a test run. pulled up to a traffic light and a civic with a f#$% can pulled up next to me and reved his engine, so i reved mine to 6000 rpm. he rolled up his window and pulled away VERY SLOWLY! lol!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for MAC Off-road Pro Chamber Mid-Pipe (99-04 4.6L)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Already got complimented.

PostedJune 27, 2011
Customer avatar
Edward
Driving Style:Street / Strip
Year:2000
Model:GT
This mid-pipe is amazing. It sounds like an old school hot rod. I looked at X and H pipes and decided to go with the Prochamber. I'm glad I did. Today I had some guy next to me ask me to rev the car while he pulled out his cell phone to capture the sound... The install was easy once I got the passenger side bolts off. I did it myself in the garage with jackstands. The fit was perfect and everything lined up just right with minimal adjustment needed.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for MAC Off-road Pro Chamber Mid-Pipe (99-04 4.6L)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product from MAC!

PostedNovember 3, 2011
Customer avatar
Bullitt303
FromEast Central Indiana
Year:2001
Model:Bullitt
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:5+
Loudness (Volume) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exhaust Note 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit & Finish 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Installation Time:
Less than 1 Hour
 
Less than 1 Hour
I had this pipe installed at my buddys shop (JC Motorsports) on my 01 Bullitt. I have the stock manifold and stock cat back exhaust still on the car. I personally think it sounds great, i wasnt looking for it to be alot louder, i just wanted rid of the cats. I def noticed more low end power- no doubt about that. but if your wanting a much louder sound go with the H or X pipe. Again, i didnt want it much louder- i just wanted some power freed up. I also bought the mil eliminators so no check engine light for me! It was not difficult at all to install, does not come with directions, but i would say its pretty obvious how to install it. After it was on, a few adjustments had to made to eliminate some exhaust leaks- but they were fixed pretty easily. All in all, a great product- the only reason i did not rate it completly 5 stars is i think it is very pricy. a comparable X pipe is $50 dollars cheaper, but i dont like the "raspy" sound and cackle of those.I would definatly buy again. And I am a repeat customer with american muscle- Excellent customer service- and prompt shipping! Had the pipe in under 72 hours from the min i purchased it!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for MAC Off-road Pro Chamber Mid-Pipe (99-04 4.6L)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING SOUND

PostedNovember 1, 2011
Customer avatar
TxStang
FromTexas
Year:2003
Model:GT
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:1
Loudness (Volume) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exhaust Note 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit & Finish 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Installation Time:
Less than 1 Hour
 
Less than 1 Hour
I had a UPR o/r X pipe on my stang with the 40 series Flowmasters and I loved it at first but my car is a daily driver and I got real tired of the "look at me loud" that the x pipe gave me so I swapped for the Mac Prochamber for that nice muscle car sound and I love it! Its very well mannered below 3000 rpms but once you step on the loud pedal man it screams! I get compliments from everyone and they tell me they like it more than your typical dime a dozen x piped Mustangs. I also did notice the engine breathes better compared to the stock midpipe that I had on while I waited for the Mac to come in the mail.
Only con was it is a little pricey for a midpipe but its a good thing because not very many people will probably have this setup!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for MAC Off-road Pro Chamber Mid-Pipe (99-04 4.6L)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cobra must have

PostedJune 21, 2013
Customer avatar
RedfireSVT
Year:2004
Model:Cobra
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:3
Loudness (Volume) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Exhaust Note 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit & Finish 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Installation Time:
Afternoon
 
Afternoon
Perfect sound with stock manifolds and borla stingers. Just a mean muscle car rumble that turns heads and earns compliments everywhere. Had xpipe and was too raspy. Pro chamber perfect blend of sound and rumble
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for MAC Off-road Pro Chamber Mid-Pipe (99-04 4.6L)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mustang GT prochamber Borla stinger combo!

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Zinc76
FromMiami, FL, USA
Year:2001
Model:GT
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:1
Loudness (Volume) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Exhaust Note 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit & Finish 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Installation Time:
Shop Install
 
Shop Install
Installation Cost:
0-$100
 
0-$100
I used to run a UPR catted x pipe with Borla stingers and it was way too loud with tons of drone. In my opinion the prochamber sounds best with stingers and is the quietest mid pipe when compared to off road H's or X's. Definitely noticed an improvement in performance as well. Thanks AM!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for MAC Off-road Pro Chamber Mid-Pipe (99-04 4.6L)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Definitely recommended!

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Zeek08
FromFranklin, ID, USA
Year:2003
Model:Mach 1
Driving Style:Street / Strip
'Stangs I have owned:1
Loudness (Volume) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Exhaust Note 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit & Finish 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Installation Time:
Shop Install
 
Shop Install
Installation Cost:
$100-$250
 
$100-$250
Great product, kind of pricey for what comes in the box, but i'm loving the sound my car puts out, so I can't complain too much. Paired this up with some Borla Pro Xs and 2.5 all the way out. Got the sound i was looking for. Loudness and exhaust note will be determined by the type of muffler you chose to install. Fit and finish, i would recommend getting some O2 adapters. the right side fit great and had some slack, but the left side was pretty tight, but it did fit. it's all up the buyer on that one. Overall rating is "Good".
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for MAC Off-road Pro Chamber Mid-Pipe (99-04 4.6L)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

W1CK3D

PostedSeptember 3, 2011
Customer avatar
01StangK1d
FromLas Cruces, NM
Year:2001
Model:GT
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:1
Loudness (Volume) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exhaust Note 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit & Finish 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Installation Time:
Less than 1 Hour
 
Less than 1 Hour
I have a 2001 Mustang GT. Basic bolt on and full Flowmaster exhaust. Did my homework, looked everywhere to see which was better (x-pipe, h-pipe, or pro chamber). Based off reviews, i went with the pro chamber, and let me tell you, could not be happier. Get nothing but compliments, this with flowmaster, is how a mustang should sound. Do you homework, research what you want, and if this is the one you choose, then GREAT choice. Thank AM!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for MAC Off-road Pro Chamber Mid-Pipe (99-04 4.6L)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pro chamber :-)

PostedJuly 15, 2012
Customer avatar
gmsmoker41
FromOak Forest, IL, USA
Year:2002
Model:GT
Driving Style:Show
'Stangs I have owned:5+
Loudness (Volume) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Exhaust Note 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit & Finish 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Installation Time:
Less than 1 Hour
 
Less than 1 Hour
This is what a mustang GT supposed to sound like , nice deep rumble when u hit the gas the sound of an animal comes alive , thx again AM for another great product and speedy delivery
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for MAC Off-road Pro Chamber Mid-Pipe (99-04 4.6L)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

prochamber

PostedMay 27, 2011
Customer avatar
chris
Driving Style:Daily Driver
Year:2003
Model:Mach 1
overpriced almost every other site that has the prochamber sells it for 249. same with the mac catback can find it for 10-20 dollars cheaper on stangmods.....usually I only go with AM but not this time. I know that AM is by far the quickest with getting you your stuff but I'll wait the extra 2 days and save my 40 bones!
Yes, I recommend this product.
-10points
15of 40voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for MAC Off-road Pro Chamber Mid-Pipe (99-04 4.6L)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Had to cut/weld or would have had to return for replacement.

PostedNovember 25, 2014
Customer avatar
JeffH
FromLong Beach, MS, USA
Year:2004
Model:GT
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:1
Loudness (Volume) 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Exhaust Note 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit & Finish 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Installation Time:
Shop Install
 
Shop Install
Installation Cost:
$100-$250
 
$100-$250
I was the lucky guy who got the Pro Chamber that won't fit with stock manifolds and Magnaflow catbacks. I had the best shop in my area do the install so it's not like they didn't know what they were doing. Since the old Mac off-road H was already off, I just had them cut the one pipe with a bad angle and turn it slightly and re-weld it. Other than that, I love the tone and decrease in volume/drone! Still glad I bought it, not glad instead of $40 install, it went to $135 for the time they had to spend on it. And yes, I watched the entire process and have advanced mechanical skills.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for MAC Off-road Pro Chamber Mid-Pipe (99-04 4.6L)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bit pricey for O/R pipe, but makes good power

PostedNovember 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Mike2000GT
FromNJ
Year:2000
Model:GT
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:2
Loudness (Volume) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Exhaust Note 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fit & Finish 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Installation Time:
Less than 1 Hour
 
Less than 1 Hour
I've had a MAC Prochamber on my 2000 mustang since the first year I bought it. It is a great O/R pipe and gave me about 15 hp / 15 tq over stock, dyno tested. There is a very noticeable pull in the upper rpms with this mid-pipe. Gains from 3000 all the way to redline, with peak power gain around 5000 rpm. The quality of the pipe is good, nothing great. The coating comes off the pipe around the welds and allows some surface rust. After 13 years it has held up pretty good, and I am still running it. The 3 piece design makes it really easy to install. I can change it out with stock in about 30-45 minutes (change for inspection). As with any offroad mid-pipe it is quite loud. Not the loudest, but with my magnaflows the people in my 6th floor office can hear me coming into the parking lot. As noted, do not use the supplied passengers side gasket. Just got to your local autoparts store and buy the OEM one for $10.
Overall, it was worth every penny I paid for it. Helps my car run low 13's, which is pretty good for a 2000 4.6L.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for MAC Off-road Pro Chamber Mid-Pipe (99-04 4.6L)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great sound, but Lousy Warranty and Customer service

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Customer avatar
94tbird
FromNY
Year:2002
Model:GT
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:2
Loudness (Volume) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Exhaust Note 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit & Finish 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Installation Time:
Afternoon
 
Afternoon
This is my second unit. The original rusted through in just 6 years, leaving my car an open exhaust loud monster. Mac offers only a 1 year warranty, while others like magnaflow offer lifetime warranties. SAVE YOUR RECEIPT! I could not find the original receipt and MAC refused to help me without it. I have NO issue with the sound, nothing sounds better, but with the materials used by Mac, don't expect this to last. The rest of the system in the car is Magnaflow, and not one spec of rust anywhere, and its older than the original Prochamber was.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for MAC Off-road Pro Chamber Mid-Pipe (99-04 4.6L)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great sound...super leaky

PostedMay 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Schuetz21
FromAbbotsford, BC, Canada
Year:2002
Model:GT
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:1
Loudness (Volume) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Exhaust Note 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fit & Finish 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Installation Time:
Afternoon
 
Afternoon
Installed this product on my 02 gt with borla stingers and it sounds great but is constantly leaking by the manifolds. Also 2/4 o2 sensor holes I had to re-tap. I do NOT recommend this product. Good sound terrible fitment/finish
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for MAC Off-road Pro Chamber Mid-Pipe (99-04 4.6L)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Mid Pipe Design Hands Down...

PostedApril 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Stang127870
FromDarlington, SC, USA
Year:2000
Model:GT
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:4
Loudness (Volume) 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Exhaust Note 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit & Finish 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Installation Time:
Afternoon
 
Afternoon
2000 Mustang GT
I changed out my BBK off road X-pipe to the MAC Prochamber. I couldn't stand that rattling/exhaust leak sound I had gotten out of the x-pipe any longer. It has the deep sounding characteristics of any off road pipe, but smoother tone overall. It does cost more, but in my opinion its very well worth it. The fit and finish is great, it actually fits closer to the bottom of the car. Helps out alot on lowered cars. Because it fits closer, I had to bend up the mounting plate that held the connectors for the downstream o2 sensors and zip tie to secure wiring, no big deal. BTW, it does come with a gasket for the passenger side exhaust manifold, and the reducer to seal the driver side manifold. Something i didn't get with the BBK...
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for MAC Off-road Pro Chamber Mid-Pipe (99-04 4.6L)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great sound

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Customer avatar
ForrestS
Year:2002
Model:GT
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:2
Loudness (Volume) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Exhaust Note 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit & Finish 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Installation Time:
Afternoon
 
Afternoon
recently replaced this from the BBK x pipe on my car, this fits closer to the car, so ground clearance has increased! the 3-peice modular design went together great, no leaks or modifications needed, only thing i did was use high temp paint on it for a stealthy finish. The sound is kind of a mix between the deep h pipe down low, but a ax pipe up top in the RPM range. looking for something diffrent then this is for you!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for MAC Off-road Pro Chamber Mid-Pipe (99-04 4.6L)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Music to my ears!!

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer avatar
FordCRZY
FromLexington, KY, USA
Year:2004
Model:Mach 1
Driving Style:Street / Strip
'Stangs I have owned:3
Loudness (Volume) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exhaust Note 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit & Finish 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Installation Time:
Afternoon
 
Afternoon
The Pro Chamber Mid-Pipe gave me the sound I was looking for along with flowmaster 40's. The install took about two hours from start to finish and the fit was good. You will need to buy a manifold gasket for the right side from Fel-pro or Motorcraft (Only cost about $8 bucks) because the one in the kit is poorly made and will blow out. The sound is amazing and with a new tune from the BAMA crew I can feel the power gain also. Great product!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for MAC Off-road Pro Chamber Mid-Pipe (99-04 4.6L)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great mid-section

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Customer avatar
JonnyReb
FromMartin, Ga
Year:2000
Model:GT
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:1
Loudness (Volume) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exhaust Note 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit & Finish 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Installation Time:
Afternoon
 
Afternoon
Finally got this installed today, much better quality material than stock mid-pipe. Not a very flashy part but performs very well. Definately increased exhaust volume. I installed this with a pair of SLP resenators and piped them out the side, man what a roar! Almost too loud, but has awesome tone. Almost sounds like a NASCAR up close. Performance wise it is great, but next time I think I will buy a mid-pipe with cats to keep the volume down a little.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for MAC Off-road Pro Chamber Mid-Pipe (99-04 4.6L)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice product!

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Customer avatar
02REDGT281
FromElkhorn, WI, USA
Year:2002
Model:GT
Driving Style:Street / Strip
'Stangs I have owned:3
Loudness (Volume) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Exhaust Note 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fit & Finish 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Installation Time:
Shop Install
 
Shop Install
Installation Cost:
0-$100
 
0-$100
2002 GT. Fit was good. No need to extend O2 sensors on 2002 GT. Nice throaty sound with Flowmaster 40's. A little drone but not much at all. Very nice product for the price.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.