Customer reviews for Kooks Kooks Performance Axle-Back Exhaust (11-14 GT)

Kooks Kooks Performance Axle-Back Exhaust (11-14 GT)

Aggressive Exhaust Note. Give your 5.0 Coyote powered Mustang the loud aggressive exhaust note of a classic 60's muscle car with a Kooks Performance Axle-Back Exhaust system, that features stainless steel race mufflers. Durable Stainless Steel Construction. Constructed from 2-3/4" to 3" diameter stainless steel tubing for strength and corrosion resistance, this Kooks Performance Axle-Back exhaust system features two high flow 3" Oval Race Mufflers that end with 4" polished T304 stainless steel slant cut exhaust tips. Application. This Kooks Performance Axle-Back Exhaust Kit is specifically designed to fit the 2011-2014 GT Mustangs with the Coyote 5.0L 4 Valve V8 engine.
Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
11 out of 11(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for Kooks Performance Axle-Back Exhaust (11-14 GT)
Review 1 for Kooks Performance Axle-Back Exhaust (11-14 GT)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

KICKS #%@!!!!!

PostedMay 9, 2012
Customer avatar
RecentConvert
FromDetroit
Year:2012
Model:GT
Driving Style:Street / Strip
'Stangs I have owned:1
Loudness (Volume) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exhaust Note 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit & Finish 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Installation Time:
Less than 1 Hour
 
Less than 1 Hour
Sound is just right, Fitment and Quality is phenomonal!
0 DRONE!
Makes me want a pair on my wifes FLEX!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kooks Performance Axle-Back Exhaust (11-14 GT)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good and Bad....

PostedSeptember 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Mark17
Year:2012
Model:GT
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:3
Loudness (Volume) 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Exhaust Note 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit & Finish 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Installation Time:
Less than 1 Hour
 
Less than 1 Hour
Installed this axe-back on my '12 GT. Sounds great at start up, very deep! When revving lightly(1-2K) before taking off, it sounds great! There is a nice rumble and deep tone! Deceleration also sounds awesome! My only complaint is at WOT, the sound seems to noticeably drown out. If WOT was louder, it would be the perfect exhaust! Looks like I'm going to switch to the Flowmaster Outlaw.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kooks Performance Axle-Back Exhaust (11-14 GT)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great sound

PostedFebruary 17, 2012
Customer avatar
shtick
FromGeorgia
Year:2012
Model:GT
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:1
Loudness (Volume) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exhaust Note 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit & Finish 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Installation Time:
Less than 1 Hour
 
Less than 1 Hour
Install was simple, the axle backs are a light compared to the OEM axlebacks. Love the exhaust note, it sounds exhilarating when stomping on it. Quality is top notch and the welds look great.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kooks Performance Axle-Back Exhaust (11-14 GT)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great low rumble

PostedMay 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Sepp
Year:2013
Model:GT
Driving Style:Street / Strip
'Stangs I have owned:3
Loudness (Volume) 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Exhaust Note 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit & Finish 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Installation Time:
Afternoon
 
Afternoon
They sound very good, give the low rumble I was looking for without being overpowering. Not to bad to install, just wish I knew about the need to drop the pan head bar to get the stock mufflers out. So if your doing them make sure you look up how to do that or you'll never get them out.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kooks Performance Axle-Back Exhaust (11-14 GT)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kook's on a Boss Laguna

PostedOctober 6, 2013
Customer avatar
MitchMar
FromCalifornia, USA
Year:2013
Model:Boss
Driving Style:Race
'Stangs I have owned:4
Loudness (Volume) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exhaust Note 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit & Finish 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Installation Time:
Less than 1 Hour
 
Less than 1 Hour
Added the Kook's axle back to my '13 BOss LS. Install was simple and direct, there are a few helpful hints on the web such as to pull the mid-pipes to help and/or drop the hangers. I had to do both on the Driver's side, but still simple.
Sound is WAY deep and throaty, but I added for the ~29#'s weight savings and a bit more open exhaust so I could delete the Boss side pipes...a bit high school those side pipes for me. WIth side pipes pulled saved 40#'s or more.
For those of potential concern...I do track my car and go to Laguna Seca on 90db days. I was VERY concerned this might be an issue, but it passed no problem.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kooks Performance Axle-Back Exhaust (11-14 GT)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice compromise

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Customer avatar
TrueNorth
FromMassachusetts, USA
Year:2013
Model:GT
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:1
Loudness (Volume) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Exhaust Note 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fit & Finish 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Installation Time:
Shop Install
 
Shop Install
Installation Cost:
0-$100
 
0-$100
Initially purchased Flowmaster Outlaws and they sounded awesome, but embarrassingly loud. AM was helpful in recommending the Kooks. Beautifully crafted. Felt lazy after I installed the outlaws so I went to Midas and they did a fine job. Best feature is the rumble at idle, otherwise pretty tame but satisfying. The kooks look much better then the outlaws, IMHO.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kooks Performance Axle-Back Exhaust (11-14 GT)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Customer avatar
jpgriff10
FromFlorence, AL, USA
Year:2012
Model:GT
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:5
Loudness (Volume) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Exhaust Note 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit & Finish 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Installation Time:
Shop Install
 
Shop Install
Installation Cost:
0-$100
 
0-$100
I didn't buy from AM but won this axleback in a contest along with over the axle pipes. This exhaust paired with an offload h pipe is amazing. Deep and mellow sound all throughout the RPM range. Deeper than the gt500 axle backs and my exhaust flows a lot better with these installed as well. It has a nasty growl when you step on it and I highly recommend this product
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kooks Performance Axle-Back Exhaust (11-14 GT)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceptional quality

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Mustang4v
FromRegina, SK, Canada
Year:2013
Model:GT
Driving Style:Street / Strip
'Stangs I have owned:3
Loudness (Volume) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Exhaust Note 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit & Finish 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Installation Time:
Less than 1 Hour
 
Less than 1 Hour
I have always heard KOOKS products were very good, and I was not disappointed at all with this axle-back. Very high quality and I could not ask for a better fit and finish. Its not the loudest axle-back out there, but it is perfect if you have plans to remove the factory resonators, or install an offroad midpipe.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kooks Performance Axle-Back Exhaust (11-14 GT)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kooks axel back on 2012 Boss 302 LS

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
69rcode
FromDeep south Texas
Year:2012
Model:Boss
Driving Style:Race
'Stangs I have owned:10+
Loudness (Volume) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exhaust Note 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit & Finish 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Installation Time:
Afternoon
 
Afternoon
Easy install. Looks much better, Sounds great and much lighter that factory. Only thing that would make it a 5 for 5 on bang for buck is to include exhaust clamps to avoid reusing the factory clamps. Still a great value for the money.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kooks Performance Axle-Back Exhaust (11-14 GT)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Deep muscle car sound

PostedNovember 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Ryan4C
FromDownham Market, Norfolk, UK
Year:2013
Model:GT
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:5
Loudness (Volume) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exhaust Note 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit & Finish 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Installation Time:
Less than 1 Hour
 
Less than 1 Hour
I spent days researching watching videos and reading reviews. I decided to go with Kooks because of the reputation they have, and the sound on a few videos. They took maybe 45 min to install very straight forward, perfect fit! At first start up to idle they have a nice low and deep sound, not crazy loud but definitely enough to know the sound is coming from a 5.0. At wide open throttle these come to life!! Cruising at highway speed there is no drone. I am very happy with these, I didn't want the ricer sound that a lot of axle backs have and these definitely do not. True mustang sound!!! Well worth the money the welds are true craftsmanship you can not go wrong with Kooks!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kooks Performance Axle-Back Exhaust (11-14 GT)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best axle-back exhaust for the 5.0 - Period!

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Cov12
FromSC
Year:2012
Model:GT
Driving Style:Street / Strip
'Stangs I have owned:10+
Loudness (Volume) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exhaust Note 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit & Finish 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Installation Time:
Less than 1 Hour
 
Less than 1 Hour
I've owned over a dozen Mustangs in the last 20+ years with
tons of modifications being made to each one. Exhaust sound
and look has always been a big deal to me, and I can honestly
say the Kooks axle back is by far my favorite exhaust to date.
The fit and finish is superb and the sound is amazing, not too
loud, but just right, and no noticable drone. Installation is also breeze if you know your way around a car. I would definitly
recommend this exhaust to anyone who wants their 5.0 to sound as bad as it looks. Kooks is more expensive than some,
but the quality is well worth it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kooks Performance Axle-Back Exhaust (11-14 GT)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Exhaust!

PostedJune 30, 2012
Customer avatar
03dakrt
FromRoyal Oak MI
Year:2013
Model:GT
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:1
Loudness (Volume) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exhaust Note 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit & Finish 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Installation Time:
Less than 1 Hour
 
Less than 1 Hour
I am so happy with my choice. I was looking for something with a deeper tone, no interior drone, quite at cruise, and loud when you lay into it. Kooks has delivered a great product. Fit and finish is superb. I love the look of the tips and that the whole system is polished. No regrets!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.