Customer reviews for Modern Billet Modern Billet Chrome Underhood Dress-up Kit (05-09 GT)

Modern Billet Modern Billet Chrome Underhood Dress-up Kit (05-09 GT)

Save $35 - Now is your chance to get $35 off the regular price of our most popular underhood styling mods for your S197 GT pony with this Chrome Underhood Dress-up Kit.Show winning Styling. Give your GT's engine compartment a fantastic show winning look with this Chrome GT Under Hood Dress-up kit. This six piece engine cap kit features a bright chrome finish.Quality Construction. Crafted from a solid block of 6061-T6 machined billet aluminum that is then triple chrome plated and polished to a brilliant shine these Caps and Covers will last a lifetime. Kit Includes:Brake Fluid Cap CoverOil Dipstick HandleReplacement Oil CapReplacement Power Steering CapRadiator Cap CoverReplacement Washer Fluid Cap with cableFitment. This six piece set of chrome dress up engine accessories are designed to fit the 2005 through 2009 Mustang GT. Now you can go from boring stock to show winning custom in minutes.
Overall rating:
4.782 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(179 reviews) 179
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 179 reviews
5 Stars
148
4 Stars
26
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
100+ 
customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Modern Billet Chrome Underhood Dress-up Kit (05-09 GT)
Review 1 for Modern Billet Chrome Underhood Dress-up Kit (05-09 GT)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dress up kit looks great

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
Customer avatar
rlkeys1
FromTennessee, USA
Year:2009
Model:Other
Driving Style:Show
'Stangs I have owned:3
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Installation Time:
Less than 1 Hour
 
Less than 1 Hour
I show my 2009 Roush 429R and this dress up kit stands out better than the Satin finish kit I had.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Modern Billet Chrome Underhood Dress-up Kit (05-09 GT)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Look Great!

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
Customer avatar
JC08
FromMustang, OK, USA
Year:2008
Model:GT
Driving Style:Show
'Stangs I have owned:5+
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Installation Time:
Less than 1 Hour
 
Less than 1 Hour
The kit looks great and is well made. Installation of dip stick top required little work as the pin that needed to be reused was difficult to get back in place and had to be filed flush to allow it to seat properly. An instruction sheet would be helpful to give tips on dip stick install and to point out the small set screws that secure several caps over the stock ones. Really looks good on the engine!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Modern Billet Chrome Underhood Dress-up Kit (05-09 GT)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Love the caps but should fit out of the box

PostedJanuary 8, 2015
Customer avatar
MikeD23
FromTemperance, Michigan
Year:2008
Model:GT
Driving Style:Street / Strip
'Stangs I have owned:1
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Installation Time:
Less than 1 Hour
 
Less than 1 Hour
The caps are high quality and a nice improvement over the OEM caps. The windshield washer cap and power steering cap have wire retaining loops which do not fit correctly. I ended up clipping them off. The product looks great but the reason I do not recommend is I think a product such as this should easily fit out of the box, which it did not.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Modern Billet Chrome Underhood Dress-up Kit (05-09 GT)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

looks great!

PostedDecember 31, 2014
Customer avatar
chad39
Year:2007
Model:GT
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:2
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Installation Time:
Less than 1 Hour
 
Less than 1 Hour
Nice dress up kit. Really compliments the engine bay.The only issue I had was installing the windshield washer cap and the power steering cap.Both come with a metal loop that needless to say I cut them both off. Which looks better to me. Quality is nice though:)
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Modern Billet Chrome Underhood Dress-up Kit (05-09 GT)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dress-up Kit

PostedDecember 26, 2014
Customer avatar
STEED
FromCedar Park, TX, USA
Year:2006
Model:GT
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:3
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Installation Time:
Less than 1 Hour
 
Less than 1 Hour
G R 8 product, fits good and looks good, very easy to install.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Modern Billet Chrome Underhood Dress-up Kit (05-09 GT)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great engine bay blig

PostedDecember 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Mrodsagain
FromToronto Canada
Year:2008
Model:GT
Driving Style:Street / Strip
'Stangs I have owned:2
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Installation Time:
Less than 1 Hour
 
Less than 1 Hour
I was impressed by the way these parts are machined and finished. Some, like the rad cap, slide over the existing cap, however it has notched groves inside that match the original cap contours, so there is zero chance of slippage. The dip stick is a tight fit, but I'm ok with that. Overall, lots of bling and quality for the buck.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Modern Billet Chrome Underhood Dress-up Kit (05-09 GT)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product really hits the eye when you open the hood

PostedDecember 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Kid007
FromMontreal, Canada
Year:2007
Model:GT
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:1
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Installation Time:
Less than 1 Hour
 
Less than 1 Hour
This dress up kit really does the job.It gives a very classy look to the underhood.I really did the right thing wheen I bought it.
Was very excited when I installed it.
Really the first thing you notice when you pop the hood.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Modern Billet Chrome Underhood Dress-up Kit (05-09 GT)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Adapted to 2010 Mustang GT

PostedDecember 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Buffmattstang
FromBuffalo, NY, USA
Year:2010
Model:GT
Driving Style:Show
'Stangs I have owned:5+
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Installation Time:
Less than 1 Hour
 
Less than 1 Hour
If you look through the American Muscle Catalog, you will notice that the dress up kit is not available for the 2010 Mustang. Everything in 2005-2009 kit will fit the 2010 except the windshield washer cap. Supposedly you will have to buy the one that fits the 2010 separately. Since I own a metal lathe I bought this kit and would do any modification to make the cap fit. This was not necessary. All I did was remove the thick o ring that is in the cap and replace it with a medium o-ring that is available at your local hardware store. I believe it was 2 1/4" diameter. This gave it a snug fit and seems to be enough to retain it. After removing the original yellow washer cap you can squeeze the retainer on the washer tube to give the cap clearance.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Modern Billet Chrome Underhood Dress-up Kit (05-09 GT)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Engine dress up kit

PostedDecember 3, 2014
Customer avatar
GT4EVER
FromNorthern, CA
Year:2006
Model:GT
Driving Style:Show
'Stangs I have owned:1
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Installation Time:
Less than 1 Hour
 
Less than 1 Hour
Nice quality, easy to install except oil dip stick was a bit tricky need a vice. The kit should include a new pin for the dip stick or actually the whole assembly would be grand.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Modern Billet Chrome Underhood Dress-up Kit (05-09 GT)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Dress up kit

PostedOctober 29, 2014
Customer avatar
depotbrad
FromChilton WI
Year:2008
Model:Other
Driving Style:Show
'Stangs I have owned:4
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fit 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Installation Time:
Less than 1 Hour
 
Less than 1 Hour
Easy to install except for the dipstick handle and the oil filler cap was hard to get seated. Overall it does clean up the engine compartment nicely.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Modern Billet Chrome Underhood Dress-up Kit (05-09 GT)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good quality

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Customer avatar
ronskey
Frommississauga, ontario canada
Year:2007
Model:GT
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:2
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Installation Time:
Less than 1 Hour
 
Less than 1 Hour
I love the look of my pony under hood, very easy to install use vise to knocked pin out.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Modern Billet Chrome Underhood Dress-up Kit (05-09 GT)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great look if your into chrome

PostedAugust 10, 2014
Customer avatar
MichaelT
FromMichigan
Year:2008
Model:GT
Driving Style:Show
'Stangs I have owned:2
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Installation Time:
Less than 1 Hour
 
Less than 1 Hour
Nice kit except for the dipstick handle that doesn't fit into the stock tube.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Modern Billet Chrome Underhood Dress-up Kit (05-09 GT)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

More pop for your Tang

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Customer avatar
NC1968
FromVA
Year:2005
Model:GT
Driving Style:Show
'Stangs I have owned:2
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Installation Time:
Less than 1 Hour
 
Less than 1 Hour
Great add, but in my opinion one will need to add strut and radiator chrome covers to get the full effect
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Modern Billet Chrome Underhood Dress-up Kit (05-09 GT)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect little dress up

PostedJune 26, 2014
Customer avatar
mandy2014
FromColumbia,ct
Year:2005
Model:GT
Driving Style:Show
'Stangs I have owned:2
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Installation Time:
Less than 1 Hour
 
Less than 1 Hour
Loved the looks of the caps and easy enough to install, did have a problem with the washer cap though, the retainer ring was too small to fit over the washer jugs' neck, and we had to go through a few till it fit properly. As far as American Musle though, no complaints, great service even with the returns, completely satisfied!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Modern Billet Chrome Underhood Dress-up Kit (05-09 GT)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Like the detail

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Customer avatar
GoDawgs
FromKing, NC, USA
Year:2007
Model:GT
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Installation Time:
Less than 1 Hour
 
Less than 1 Hour
great look it's just fired me up to get MORE!! AM needs a frequent customer card/rewards. LOL!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Modern Billet Chrome Underhood Dress-up Kit (05-09 GT)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bullitt- Modern Billet Chrome Underhood Dress-up Kit

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Customer avatar
JohnsBullitt
FromTualatin, OR
Year:2008
Model:Bullitt
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:2
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These six items fit perfectly. However I will say that changing the Oil Dipstick Handle was a little problematic; keeping the holes aligned so that the pin that secures the handle to the dipstick is tricky. The pin has to press through the hole in the new handle-through the dipstick hole and on out the hole in the other side of the handle. I had to go down to my local Hardware Store and have their auto repair specialist provide a new pin and press it through the new handle. Nice! Also, the o-ring on the new handle fits very tight when inserting the dipstick back on the engine-I hope it stays seated.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Modern Billet Chrome Underhood Dress-up Kit (05-09 GT)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Needs a little bit of instruction

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Carstng
FromAldan Delaware county PA?
Year:2007
Model:GT
Driving Style:Street / Strip
'Stangs I have owned:1
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Installation Time:
Afternoon
 
Afternoon
You need to include a better instruction sheet because I had to guess at certain installs and I don't think any one likes to guess also you should include with the oil dipstick handle a new roller pin because removing the old one I damaged it and now I will have to find one to replace it other wise a good buy sans instructions you need to take a little time with the install though
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Modern Billet Chrome Underhood Dress-up Kit (05-09 GT)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good price

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Customer avatar
sfhflexx
FromPrescott, AZ, USA
Year:2006
Model:GT
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:3
Installation Time:
Less than 1 Hour
 
Less than 1 Hour
Easy to install,made the car look sharp,be careful not to dent the caps.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Modern Billet Chrome Underhood Dress-up Kit (05-09 GT)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

DRESS UP KIT

PostedDecember 22, 2013
Customer avatar
skimmy
FromSKIMMY
Year:2008
Model:GT
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:3
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Installation Time:
Less than 1 Hour
 
Less than 1 Hour
ALL THOUGH THEY LOOK AWESOME BUT THE BRAKE FLUID AND COOLANT CAPS JUST SLIP OVER THE STOCK ONES AND STAY IN PLACE WITH 3M TAPE. THERES NO DIRECTIONS TO TELL YOU THIS AND DOESN'T SAY ANYTHING ON THE AM VIDEO. IF YOU HAPPEN TO MISS THE EM TAPE AND JUST REST THEM ON THE STOCK ONES THEY COULD BOUNCE OFF AND YOU COULD LOOSE THEM
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Modern Billet Chrome Underhood Dress-up Kit (05-09 GT)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Engine bling

PostedDecember 22, 2013
Customer avatar
cmd1791
FromNashville, TN
Year:2005
Model:GT
Driving Style:Show
'Stangs I have owned:4
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Installation Time:
Less than 1 Hour
 
Less than 1 Hour
The finish and weight of the billet pieces make them feel like they are worth the price. The chrome finish does add a lot of bling under the hood and remove some of that black factory plastic that dominates every new car's engine bay.
My only complaint is with the dip stick topper. the rubber o-ring that is supplied is far too big to fit in the factory dipstick tube. I had to shave it down with a flat blade x-acto knife to get it to fit.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.