Customer reviews for BBK BBK Twin 62mm Throttle Body (05-10 GT)

BBK BBK Twin 62mm Throttle Body (05-10 GT)

Excellent Performance Gains. Replace your restrictive factory throttle body with a BBK Throttle body that features a generous, free flowing 62mm twin bore design. It is a simple, direct bolt-on install that does not require any computer tuning to enjoy the newly discovered power you have put on your drive-by-wire pony. Expect to see gains of 15-20 HP and 20-25 TQ. Quality Construction. This BBK Mustang throttle body is CNC machined from high quality 356 aluminum to ensure OEM quality and a perfect fit. Features like OEM die stamped throttle linkages, double sealed bearings, and o ringed throttle shafts make this throttle body one of best on the market today.Application. This BBK Twin 62mm Throttle Body is specifically designed to fit the 2005 to 2010 GT Mustangs with a 4.6L V8.
Overall rating:
4.511 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(180 reviews) 180
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 180 reviews
5 Stars
136
4 Stars
25
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
3
1 Star
11
100+ 
customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer reviews for BBK Twin 62mm Throttle Body (05-10 GT)
Review 1 for BBK Twin 62mm Throttle Body (05-10 GT)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

GET THE FORD RACING THROTTLE BODY

PostedSeptember 9, 2011
Customer avatar
Corwin
FromOrlando, Fl
Year:2006
Model:GT
Driving Style:Street / Strip
'Stangs I have owned:2
Performance Gain 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fit 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Installation Time:
Less than 1 Hour
 
Less than 1 Hour
The price tag caught my eye on this unit first: So cheap, right? Well there's a reason- It isn't a complete unit, 'some assembly required'. It requires parts off your stock throttle body, thereby rendering your stock TB useless. Not a big deal I suppose since you're upgrading, but I would have considered another product, one that is a 'bolt on' not a 'bolt on after you build it'.
Now the big problem: I did several upgrades all at once. This TB, a K/N CIA, UD Pulleys, and a Pypes Cat-back mid-muf exhaust system. Suddenly began having misfire issues @3k RPMs in 4th and 5th, when crusing or accelerating slowly. Not racing through it, just holding it at 3-3.5k in those 2 gears. Changed plugs. Changed coils. Changed injectors. Changed to the BBK CIA (more on this in a moment). Problem continued. Took it to my buddy's Ford dealership and ran a compression test- Ran at 100% on 6/8 cylinders, and the other 2 were so close, it might as well have been all 8. The tech was surprised at the results considering the vehicle has 100k miles on it. Said these were the best test results he'd seen on a car with that many miles. Just installed the Ford Racing Throttle 62mm Throttle body: Problem solved. I don't know why, don't ask me to explain it, but simple fact is, the problem was there, and now it's gone. I'm not a FR salesman, I'm a law student who wants his Mustang to run and sound like a SOB. Now it does. The throttle response with the new unit is better, and oh yeah, I can cruise @ 3k in 4th/5th gear without the engine stumbling all over itself. I'm willing to accept that maybe even it's my installer's fault, and he didn't move the parts over properly or something, but that goes to my first point: The FR Throttle Body came out of the box, went onto the car, and was bolted down, end of story.
Finally: If you read all that and say "What do you know, I'll make it work and save the $200", so be it, but keep this in mind: If you want a CIA as well, or already have one, make sure it's the BBK. The lip on this TB is bigger than the stock, and the K/N CIA ring is not made to fit it. Yes you can force it (like my installer did, and ended up cutting it, which made us have to get a new one which we were more careful with- but it never fit quite right hence changing to the BBK one during the above 'miss' problem), yes you can get other parts to make it work, but again to push the FR TB: I slipped the K/N ring on it, no problems. BBK built this unit to push their CIA as well. Fine, I'm all for making $$, but this unit needs two huge warning labels in red at the top of it's description: "Requires parts from existing stock TB" and "Use only BBK CIA". Considering the nature of this purchase, this is important info and should be conspicuously noted online. Goes to merchantability if you ask me.
At any rate, if you want to save $200 at the risk of dealing with trouble from day one, this is the unit for you. If you want a performance unit that arrives and is installed in less than 30min with no issue, spend the extra $$ and get the FR one.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for BBK Twin 62mm Throttle Body (05-10 GT)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

this thing is junk

PostedApril 16, 2012
Customer avatar
upset
Year:2006
Model:GT
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:5+
Performance Gain 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Installation Time:
Less than 1 Hour
 
Less than 1 Hour
All the other reviews that say this thing is great must be fabricated,My tps voltage read a constant 1.15 set the new tb to my factory specs,after following all the steps to install start car runs fine throttle response is great let of the gas peddle car stays at the rpm when I first took my foot of the peddle.checked and re checked the tps voltage over and over same thing.called BBK they say only time this happens is when you don't set the tps voltage correctly,If they tell me that again I'll snap its correct my 2006 reads 1.15 not 1.19 thru 1.32 like in the instructions save your self time and a whole lot of aggravation and skip this tb BBK will not let you return it nor will American muscle your stuck with this junk. This isn't the first mustang I've built. but it will be the last BBK part I buy.......
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for BBK Twin 62mm Throttle Body (05-10 GT)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible Throttle Body

PostedJune 15, 2011
Customer avatar
Julio
Driving Style:Daily Driver
Year:2008
Model:GT
I can NOT recommend this product as its nothing but problems. The labor is simple, but afterwards its a pain. Called BBK and said that this is the most returned product due to so many being defective. When I asked why they don't stop the production and address the issue, they said demand is too high so production continues.... Are you kidding me.... what kind of answer is that???? Sorry I kept my original throttle body instead, but it left me with a faulty TPS and issues with charging system, now I have to fix those things thanks to BBK... AM stop selling this product, everyone I know that purchased it was dissatisfied with it in the long run. I'm going to lash out and extra $200+ for the Ford Racing 62mm Twin Throttle body that comes complete with new TPS and motor controls.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for BBK Twin 62mm Throttle Body (05-10 GT)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Great for mild cars

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Nuzzman
FromDeptford Township, NJ, USA
Year:2005
Model:GT
Performance Gain 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this throttle body along with CIA n tuner it ran great n great gains big notice. But however if u plan on modifying your stang like I did don't by it .I bought cams arms springs gears injectors rails long tube headers intake whole deal. The car ran like junk we couldn't figure out why compression was great it drive but u couldn't punch on it. After dyno tuning and all still had problems. So I replace the throttle body and the problem was gone car runs high 12s it's a beast thanks to a ford racing tb. Recommend this product if ur only doing minor bolt ons but anything more spend more n have no hassle
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for BBK Twin 62mm Throttle Body (05-10 GT)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible component - Avoid this piece

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Customer avatar
kukrusher
FromBoston, MA
Year:2005
Model:GT
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:1
Performance Gain 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fit 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Installation Time:
Afternoon
 
Afternoon
Like most people, I read the positive and negative reviews. I felt the positives outweighed the negatives and gave this TB a shot. I installed according to the instructions, and this is where the fun ended.
This product is inferior compared to the stock unit. Excessive play was noted in the wings. I was unable to consistently get the voltage from the TPS to read the same as the stock unit. What I mean is when I got it to read the 1.222V, I then tightened the set screw and remeasured and found that it had changed. When I finally got the 1.222V after tightening the set screw, I moved the wings and it never landed at the same 1.222V again! The stock TB on the other hand always landed on 1.222V.
Do yourself a favor and avoid this part...maybe shell out the extra money if you think this part will help you gain HP.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for BBK Twin 62mm Throttle Body (05-10 GT)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth the trouble.

PostedSeptember 23, 2011
Customer avatar
JP4185
FromMcLean. VA.
Year:2009
Model:GT
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:2
Performance Gain 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fit 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Installation Time:
Less than 1 Hour
 
Less than 1 Hour
Installed the TB and Bama tune and the can ran okay for about for about 10 days. At that time the engine RPM's begain to surge when stopped or at idle. I reinstalled the TB and it seemed to work fine for a while then the surging started again and the throttle would hang giving the feeling the car was in cruise control. When the TB worked right, the power increase was noticeable.
Finally, I reinstalled the stock TB, all the problems went away. I think I will go to the Ford Racing TB - Good feedback on it. The BBK TB was given to me, so fortunately I'm not out any $.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for BBK Twin 62mm Throttle Body (05-10 GT)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth the money

PostedApril 30, 2012
Customer avatar
TheRapture
FromOrange County
Year:2006
Model:GT
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:1
Performance Gain 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Installation Time:
Less than 1 Hour
 
Less than 1 Hour
This throttle body claims to have BIG gains when in reality you will lose hp on the bottom end of the rpm range and gain very little on the top. The stock throttle body is adequate for most bolt ons. The only times that you would really need to upgrade your throttle body is if your going through the engine or if you boosting some big psi's. Don't make the mistake I did, research this and see what people have to say. Spend your money else where (underdrive pulley's or charge motion control plates).
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for BBK Twin 62mm Throttle Body (05-10 GT)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Weak!

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Schmitgirl
FromDestin, FL, USA
Year:2010
Model:GT
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:1
Performance Gain 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Installation Time:
Afternoon
 
Afternoon
Spend the extra money and get the ford racing. It lasted just 14 months before it failed.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for BBK Twin 62mm Throttle Body (05-10 GT)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Problems and Support

PostedDecember 7, 2013
Customer avatar
MustangForever
FromSocal
Year:2005
Model:GT
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:2
Performance Gain 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Installation Time:
Afternoon
 
Afternoon
I have been using this for over a month now and it was easy to install and they have some great videos Step by Step. Check TPS Volt. Remove put back on and adj TPS Volt. make sure spring is on correct and put together. Finished. I have a Problem and I have notice some other people with the same problem. BBK is no help and that is if you get them to reply to your email. Thinks I have problems with is after you remove your foot from the throttle it drops RPM must slower then the factory throttle body. I have also been at a red like or drive through and had the RPM's jump up to 2k and 3k and stay for about 3 to 5 sec. I have also notice that when you are on the freeway your car will not reduce speed as much with the BBK. Just think before you buy the unit you should be aware of problems and no help from BBK before you spend money on the unit.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for BBK Twin 62mm Throttle Body (05-10 GT)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible Cheap TB

PostedJune 14, 2012
Customer avatar
BRIGGSLE
FromKings Park, NY
Year:2008
Model:GT
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:2
Performance Gain 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fit 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Installation Time:
Less than 1 Hour
 
Less than 1 Hour
Read the rest of the reviews.....horrible product....engine gets stuck at like 3000-3500 RPM its like its on cruise control. Cheaply made product. If your mustang is your baby like it is mine, DO NOT BUY THIS, spend a little bit more and get the FRPP TB. Trust me. Please dont waste your time.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from American MuscleBy LisaCustomer CareJune 15, 2012
If your idle gets stuck at 3k, I'd suggest making sure the TPS is dialed in correctly. Also, you can double check for any air leaks and leave your battery disconnected for about 30 minutes so the computer can reset properly. If you have any continued problems after trying these suggestions, please don't hesitate to contact us!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for BBK Twin 62mm Throttle Body (05-10 GT)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Feel the gain

PostedOctober 17, 2011
Customer avatar
Strick
FromPalm Desert CA
Year:2006
Model:GT
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:1
Performance Gain 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Installation Time:
Less than 1 Hour
 
Less than 1 Hour
well it took about 2hr to install. The hardest part was getting the stock intake tube mounted on the new throttle body. Ran great for a month with noticeable gains in performance. All of a sudden while sitting at a redlight, no throttle response. engine light & wrench came on & car drove 5mph tops. After spending $100 on diagnosis, bbk throttle body failed electronic throttle control system which is only available through ford at the cost of a whole new throttle body. Fun while it worked but I do not recommend.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for BBK Twin 62mm Throttle Body (05-10 GT)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not Impressed

PostedAugust 2, 2011
Customer avatar
Ben
Driving Style:Daily Driver
Year:2007
Model:GT
Now worth the money. The only way you will notice the improvements is if you have a highly modded vehicle. The FRPP TB seems to be a better looking, better performing part without all the CEL/tune issues.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for BBK Twin 62mm Throttle Body (05-10 GT)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Still not right

PostedMay 31, 2011
Customer avatar
Danny Kuhlman
Driving Style:Daily Driver
Year:2007
Model:GT
I have had nothing but problems with the results. Extreme throttle hang. When driving and letting off the gas above 2500 rpms, the throttle will hang around 2000 to 2500 rpms for 4 seconds or so, before the throttle finally drops off. I have not noticed any increase performance either. The install is enough, I have done it about 5 times now. Worked with BBK support, but no real help. I can not recommend this product.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for BBK Twin 62mm Throttle Body (05-10 GT)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Needs a lot of fine tunning

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Customer avatar
PRStang
FromPasadena, MD
Year:2007
Model:GT
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:1
Performance Gain 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Installation Time:
Afternoon
 
Afternoon
Installation was simple, however, i followed all instructions and set the voltage to the exact voltage from the stock TB. The Idle fructuated between 850 to 1200 Rpms. When driving RPMs increased to 2100 Rpms everytime i ingaged the clotch to shift. Had to change the voltage several times to fix this. It's better but still not 100%, i would recommend spending the extra cash and getting a TRUE bolt on TB that does not need the OEM TPS and actuator harness.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for BBK Twin 62mm Throttle Body (05-10 GT)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Decent Upgrade

PostedSeptember 2, 2010
Customer avatar
Chris Chambers
Driving Style:Daily Driver
Year:2010
Model:GT
American Muscle has great customer service and the shipping is always quick. This throttle body is a decent product and pretty easy to install. The YouTube video helped the most. My 2010 GT sounds a bit deeper and my car may be a LITTLE quicker, but didn't make a huge difference. Beware the engine cover will no longer fit with this new throttle body. This is an average modification, the performance tune is what really helps.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for BBK Twin 62mm Throttle Body (05-10 GT)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

BBK 62MM

PostedMay 23, 2010
Customer avatar
Stephen
The install was not technically difficult. The TPS was difficult to finally get dialed in. My throttle would stick at 3k and stay there. After about 20 TPS checks and 3 installs of the BBK 62mm, everything finally worked right. I still had to go get the codes cleared. American Muscle was great in the timeliness and packaging.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for BBK Twin 62mm Throttle Body (05-10 GT)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

BBK Throttle Body....

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Customer avatar
lilredvertstang
FromHouston, TX, USA
Year:2006
Model:GT
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:5+
Performance Gain 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Installation Time:
Less than 1 Hour
 
Less than 1 Hour
It's a beautiful piece that looks really nice under the hood and provides improved throttle response but no real horse power unless you supercharge or turbo and that's where the positives stop.
Many people have problems with the set up due to having to transfer the TPS and motor from the stock throttle body. I did research and found a good video on youtube which explained in detail how to install the BBK throttle body. I followed the directions and it worked very well with only a slight bit of surge at idle on initial deceleration. I had also install a CAI, UDP's and a Bama tune at the same time so I wasn't sure exactly which was causing the slight intermittent surge at idle.
It worked great for almost 3 months but as the weather has reached into the mid to high 90's and I installed my headers I believe that the under hood temps in stop and go traffic caused the gears or shaft on the throttle body to bind. Under these conditions the idle speed will hang at about 1200 rpm on decel and cause the wrench light to come on and send the car into limp mode which does not allow you to accelerate! So you get stuck in traffic with a car that will only idle which is a tricky situation with a manual trans! Luckily I carry my tuner with me and was able to clear codes and make it home with only one more incident.
So if you are going to replace your throttle body, spend the extra money for the Ford Racing but it will be more of a nice thing to look at under the hood than a real performance adder. If you don't plan on boosting or spraying it would probably be best to stay with the stock unit.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for BBK Twin 62mm Throttle Body (05-10 GT)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Fast shipping, decent gain

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Customer avatar
BreakDown
FromLong Island, New York, USA
Year:2008
Model:GT
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:1
Performance Gain 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Installation Time:
Shop Install
 
Shop Install
Installation Cost:
$100-$250
 
$100-$250
Shipping was very fast. The gains I saw aren't really worth the $300+.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for BBK Twin 62mm Throttle Body (05-10 GT)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

BBK Twin 62mm Throttle Body 05-10

PostedOctober 3, 2011
Customer avatar
2010mustang
Fromcleveland ga,
Year:2010
Model:GT
Driving Style:Daily Driver
'Stangs I have owned:3
Performance Gain 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bang for your Buck 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Installation Time:
Less than 1 Hour
 
Less than 1 Hour
This product took me about 20min to put on, but with the factory cold air tubeing it is a pain to hook back up. I cant really tell power differnce but throttle responce is alot better a also have the spacer to go on it. witch you will have to go get bolts to make it work thats the only bad thing i have to say.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for BBK Twin 62mm Throttle Body (05-10 GT)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Throttle Body

PostedOctober 21, 2008
Customer avatar
Josh
This throttle body works well, but beware. I have a K&N Cold Air Intake and I had to buy a larger throttle body adapter, because it would not fit over the new throttle body.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+47points
50of 53voted this as helpful.